The Miracles


The Miracles is a vocal harmony group that was formed in 1955 at Northern High School in Detroit, Michigan.

The group is noted for lead singer Smokey Robinson, who was one of the founding members. The Miracles issued a few somewhat successful singles on End Records and Chess Records. In 1960, they were signed by Motown and had numerous hits on both the R&B and Pop charts.

Members included:

Emerson Rogers left the band in 1956 and was replaced by his sister, Claudette Rogers, who later married Smokey Robinson.

The song Shop Around (1960) was the groups first Motown hit. This was followed by Mickey's Monkey (1963), I Gotta Dance to Keep From Crying, I Second That Emotion, The Love I Saw In You Was Just a Mirage, such as You Really Got A Hold On Me (1962), Going To A Go-Go, Baby, Baby Don't Cry, The Tracks Of My Tears, and their signature song: Ooh, Baby Baby.

After Robinson and Claudette married, he started towards a solo career. Albums were released as "Smokey Robinson & the Miracles" after 1967. The group's career faltered somewhat during the 1970s, though hits such as The Tears of a Clown still did quite well. In 1972, Robinson left The Miracles. They went on for a while, even having another hit, Love Machine (Part 1) (1976), but never managed to regain their former fame.

In 2001, the group was inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame.