Tango In The Night (album)

From Sajun.org

Following the "Mirage" album, Fleetwood Mac's members embarked on a number of side projects. Solo albums were released by Christine McVie, Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, while Mick Fleetwood formed "Mick Fleetwood's Zoo" and, in 1984, declared himself bankrupt.

Tango In The Night was the result of mounting record company pressure to release an album and so, in 1986, the band reunited to record what would become the swansong of the "Rumours" line-up. Buckingham was initially reluctant to commit - he had been halfway into his third solo album, and begrudgingly handed over much of the material to the band. "Big Love" gets the album off to a dark, brooding and powerful start, while "Caroline" and "Tango In The Night" recall Buckingham's avant-garde 1984 album "Go Insane". Christine McVie surely wrote the strongest songs on this record: "Everywhere" and "Little Lies" were huge hits in the UK, however it is testament to Lindsey Buckingham's skill as a producer and arranger that the album holds together so well. The singles released from Tango are among some of the best-loved hits of the 1980s.

Stevie Nicks was absent for much of the recording of Tango, thanks to a cocaine habit which sent her to the Betty Ford clinic. She writes frankly of her experiences on a less-than-tuneful "Welcome to the Room... Sara", although her performance on "Seven Wonders" is a classic, and "When I See You Again" is the sound of a desperately sad woman, wondering how it will be to be reunited with the band on which her dreams were founded. Stevie was on a path to self-destruction, and that can be heard that in every note of this song.

The album ends on a bright, poppy note with "You and I Part Two". History has shown us that Lindsey was preparing to leave the band. "Hoping tomorrow will never come...". Buckingham wanted to devote himself to his solo work, and refused to tour. After Buckingham and Nicks had a "physically ugly" encounter during a band meeting, he left the band on August 7, 1987 and was replaced by Rick Vito and Billy Burnette, who would stay on to record the 1990 album "Behind The Mask".