Screeching Weasel


Screeching Weasel is a pop punk band from Chicago, Illinois. They were formed in 1986 by Ben Weasel, a writer for the fanzine Maximum Rock 'N' Roll.

Their lyrics reflected Weasel's anti-everything apolitical orientation set to music that was catchy and derivative of the Ramones. Girls and paranoia were commmon subjects for songs as well.

Their music has transformed from the traditional punk when they began, to their long standing, distinctive pop punk sound, and later to the more fast and melodic type of punk (with the exception of Emo).

Members of Screeching Weasel went on to form bands such as: The Methadones, Sludgeworth, The Riverdales, The Mopes, and Even in Blackouts.

Discography - Albums

  • Screeching Weasel (1987 / Underdog Records, re-issue 1997 VML Records)
  • Boogadaboogadaboogada! (1988 / Roadkill Records, re-issue 1992 Lookout! Records)
  • My Brain Hurts (1992 / Lookout!)
  • Ramones (1993 / Selfless Records)
  • Wiggle (1993 / Lookout!)
  • Anthem for a New Tomorrow (1993 / Lookout!)
  • How to Make Enemies and Irritate People (1994 / Lookout!)
  • Kill the Musicians, collection (1995 / Lookout!)
  • Bark Like a Dog (1996 / Fat Wreck Chords)
  • Television City Dream (1998 / Fat Wreck Chords)
  • Beat is on the Brat (1998 / re-issue of "Ramones" LP with addition of "Formula 27" EP), Panic Button Records)
  • Emo (1999 / Panic Button)
  • Thank You Very Little, rarities (1999 / Panic Button & Lookout!)
  • Teen Punks in Heat (2000 / Panic Button & Lookout!)