Journey Through the Secret Life of Plants


Journey Through The Secret Life Of Plants was Stevie Wonder's most confusing, under-rated, and most under-appreciated work, out of a nearly 20 year career upto that point. Released in 1979, it was a soundtrack to the documentary of the same name directed by Walon Green.

The album went to number four in the Rock and R&B Billboard Charts in 1979.

Written mostly by Stevie Wonder, a couple of songs were collaborated with former wife Syreeta Wright. Also collaborations with Michael Sembello on songs were evident.

This album contained unusual synthesizer combinations and mostly instrumental. Highly considered as a mediocre follow-up to Stevie Wonder's 1976 Grammy Award winning album, Songs in the Key of Life.

TRACK LISTING: (All Songs Written And Composed by Stevie Wonder, except as noted)

1. Earths Creation

2. The First Garden

3. Voyage To India

4. Same Old Story

5. Venus Flytrap And The Bug

6. Ai No Sono

7. Seasons

8. Power Flower

9. Send One Your Love (Instrumental)

10. Race Babbling

11. Send One Your Love (partly written by Michael Sembello)

12. Outside My Window

13. Black Orchid

14. Ecclesiastes

15. Kesse Ye Lolo De Ye

16. Come Back As A Flower (lead vocals and lyrics by Syreeta Wright)

17. A Seeds A Star Tree Medley

18. The Secret Life Of Plants

19. Tree

20. Finale